Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
201 South Union Street, Suite 3000 / P.O. Box 304115 / Montgomery, AL 36130-4115
PHONE 334.517.2800 / LE.ALABAMA.GOV
KAY IVEY
GOVERNOR
 
OFFICE OF THE
SECRETARY
Hal Taylor
Secretary

March 08, 2016

ALEA Encourages Safety during Spring Break and Prom



[Montgomery, Ala.] — As warm weather approaches, high school students across the state are focused on two spring-time events – Spring Break and Prom. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) strongly encourages students and parents to make safety the foundation of planning for both events.

Motorists should expect heavier traffic on Alabama roadways and waterways as schools across Alabama and the Southeast take a few days between now and the end of April to recharge during Spring Break. Alabama State Troopers will aggressively patrol Alabama roadways and waterways, enforcing state laws and assisting motorists and boaters.

“Whether celebrating close to home or traveling to one of Alabama’s lakes, rivers, beaches or other attractions, we want everyone to arrive safely to their destination,” Acting Secretary of Law Enforcement Stan Stabler said. “Parents, we can’t do it without you. Please talk with your teens – particularly those who will travel with friends – before they leave home. Let’s be sure to review traffic and boating laws with our teens, reminding them to obey speed limits, buckle up, avoid such distractions as texting while driving and to use life vests while on the water.”

As high school students prepare for Prom and other spring festivities, Secretary Stabler said this is an ideal time for everyone to review the state's Graduated Driver License law, a three-stage licensing process that places certain restrictions on young drivers to ensure they acquire experience before driving without supervision or restrictions:

Stage I (learner’s permit): A teen is authorized to drive when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 21 or older who is occupying the front passenger seat.
Stage II (restricted license): A 16- or 17-year-old who has passed the road skills test may drive without supervision, but he or she must not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other than parents, legal guardians or family members; must not use any handheld communication devices while driving; must not drive between midnight and 6 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 21 or older.
Stage III (unrestricted license): A 17-year-old who has held a Stage II license for six months or longer may obtain an unrestricted license. Anyone who is age 18 or older may bypass the first two stages and obtain a Stage III license after passing the road skills test.

And, the Secretary continued, parents and other adults should be prepared to restrict access to alcohol and closely monitor teens to prevent underage use.

For further information on Alabama's boating, traffic and drinking laws, please visit www.alea.gov.